My best investment

business-bookPeople often ask me what has been my best investment and how did I make it happen. I have made many financial investments-most of them have contributed towards my financial freedom. I acknowledge these investments with a deep sense of gratitude.However, none of them will count as my best investment.

My best investment has been in myself. I have invested a lot of time in developing the biggest asset that gives me the biggest joy and security- myself. I have been a voracious reader and the time spent in reading books on various subjects has contributed immensely in developing this asset. It is an investment on which I have greatest control.I cannot control the events happening in my life; but I can definitely control how I respond to these events.

I was introduced to the concept of “Managing Yourself” very early in life in a book by Jadgish Parikh. Very Few MBAs too are aware of this basic management principle. Then the concept of R.O.T.I (Return on Time Invested) that I learnt from Mr. Uday Kotak, in a talk organized by Bombay Management Association also greatly contributed in how I invested my time. The concept of ROTI taught me make the most effective use of my time, and to a great extent I managed to apply this principle.

The most important manner in which I made this investment was by reading various authors on diverse topics. I keep reading books even today as I believe that this conversation with great minds contributes a great deal in shining my intellectual faculties. This has made me multi-faceted, made my life interesting & made me interesting to my clients & other people with whom I interact.

My wife always wanted a husband who could be an inspiration for her children. I had to work hard to fulfil this dream of hers! Actually, it was not at all hard work. It was all about making the choices. I had Rs.1000 which I could blow away by eating an unhealthy meal at a restaurant. I chose to invest that Rs.1000 in buying good books. I had the choice to spend my time watching meaningless T.V. programs. I chose to invest my time reading books and having conversations with great minds. This investment in myself has paid rich dividends and also resulted in great “appreciation” in the value of the asset.

Finally, my favorite question that I keep asking myself about this investment – Is it one’s right or his/her duty? Can one say that I have the right, the choice not to make this investment to continuously improve and upgrade myself? The way this is practiced in real life makes one feel that this is one’s right. However, in my value system, this investment is not a right, but an obligation. We have a duty to continuously invest in ourselves and keep on improving upon this gift of life.

What is your best investment? Leave your comments below.

Leave a comment